By Kent Gray/
First it was a nomination for the inaugural Global Triathlon Awards (GTA), now the 60th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards.

Hayden Wilde’s stellar 2022 has been recognised again with a nomination for New Zealand’s premier sports awards, the ceremony of which will hold even more significance in February following the passing of Sir Murray Halberg, NZ Olympian #94, on Nov. 30.

Wilde is among 22 athletes from 18 codes nominated for the ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year title (full list below). A shortlist of finalists in all six Halberg categories will be announced in January before the 60th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards are broadcast live on Sky Sport and Prime TV from Spark Arena in Auckland on February 15 (from 8.30pm).

The nomination comes after Wilde was shortlisted for the GTAs Best Male Athlete gong alongside World Ironman champion Gustav Iden, 70.3 titleholder Kristian Blummenfelt, Aussie Super League star Matthew Hauser and Commonwealth Games champion Alex Yee.

As Super League Triathlon (SLT) champion, Commonwealth Games silver medallist and third overall in the World Triathlon Championship Series (WTCS) standings, Wilde’s dual nominations are thoroughly deserved.

Unfortunately, the Kiwi No.1s shot at the WTCS title was derailed by an uncharacteristically off-key performance at the season finale in Abu Dhabi on Nov. 26 where Wilde finished six and essentially 10 seconds and one place shy of being crowned world champion.

The inaugural GTAs are supported by World Triathlon, SLT and the Professional Triathlete’s Organisation (PTO) with the winners to be unveiled at a “star-studded” ceremony scheduled for the Palais de la Mediterranee in Nice, France, on January 20.

Full list of nominations for the 60th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards

ISPS Handa Sportsman on the Year (eligible for Supreme Halberg Award)
Aaron Gate (cycling – track), Ajaz Patel (cricket), Ardie Savea (rugby), Brendon Hartley (motorsport), Dylan Schmidt (gymnastics – trampoline), Fergus Jenkins (mixed martial arts), Hamish Kerr (athletics – high jump), Hayden Wilde (triathlon), James McDonald (horse racing), Jamie Reid (golf), Joey Manu (rugby league), Jordan Parry (rowing), Lewis Clareburt (swimming), Marko Stamenic (football), Nico Porteous (freeskiing), Paul Coll (squash), Ryan Fox (golf), Sam Gaze (cycling – mountain bike), Shane van Gisbergen (motorsport), Steve Alker (golf), Tim Price (equestrian), Tom Walsh (athletics – shot put).

ISPS Handa Para Athlete/Para team of the Year (eligible for supreme Halberg Award)
Adam Hall (Para skiing), Anna Taylor (Para-cycling), Cameron Leslie (Para swimming), Corey Peters (Para skiing), Devon Briggs (Para-cycling), Eltje Malzbender (Para-cycling), Holly Robinson (Para athletics – javelin), Lisa Adams (athletics), Nicole Murray (Para-cycling), Rachel Maia (Para sport climbing), Scott Martlew (Para sprint kayak), Dame Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming), Wheel Blacks (Wheelchair rugby).

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year (eligible for supreme Halberg Award)
Bronwyn Dibb (gymnastics – mini trampoline), Bryony Botha (cycling – track), Ellesse Andrews (cycling – track), Emma Twigg (rowing), Jess Hotter (skiing – freeride), Joelle King (squash), Jonelle Price (equestrian), Dame Lisa Carrington (sprint kayak), Lydia Ko (golf), Niamh Fisher-Black (cycling – road), Portia Woodman (rugby), Raecene McGregor (rugby league), Ruahei Demant (rugby), Tayla Bruce (lawn bowls), Theresa Fitzpatrick (rugby), Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (skiing- snowboard).

ISPS Handa Team of the Year (eligible for supreme Halberg Award)
Black Ferns (rugby), Joelle King and Amanda Landers-Murphy (squash – women’s doubles), Joelle King and Paul Coll (squash – mixed doubles), Kerri Williams and Grace Prendergast (rowing – pair), Matthew Walker, Edward Masters and Charles Murray (cycling – mountain bike enduro team), New Zealand Eventing Team (equestrian).

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year
Ben Adams (Para skiing), Craig Palmer (cycling – men’s endurance track), Gary Hollywood (swimming), Gordon Walker (sprint kayak), Matt Toa (mixed martial arts), Mike Rodger (rowing), Sean Thompson (Skiing – snowboarding), Thomas Onley (Para swimming), Tommy Pyatt (Skiing – freeskiing), Wayne Smith (rugby).

Sky Sport Emerging Talent
Ben Westenberg (Para-cycling), Cameron Gray (swimming), Gustav Legnavsky (skiing – freeski halfpipe), Jenna Hastings (cycling – downhill mountain bike), Jocelyn Hong (figure skating), Joshua Willmer (swimming), Ruby Andrews (skiing – freeskiing), Tepenisa Havea (athletics – shot/discus), Tara Vaughan (sprint kayak).

Comments are closed.