By Kent Gray/ in Hamburg
Fred Koenders has been handed the honour of leading New Zealand in the Parade of Nations at the World Triathlon Age Group Sprint & Relay Championships in Hamburg on Thursday.

The Hawke’s Bay Triathlon Club life member will be flag bearer of the 17-strong NZL Age Group team in Germany at what will be his fifth World Triathlon Championship.

Koenders will compete in the 65-69 category on Friday after finishing 22nd at the World Triathlon (Standard Distance) Age Group Championships in Abu Dhabi last November. He’d previously raced World Triathlon finals in Beijing (13th/55-59 age group), Chicago (73rd/55-59) and Rotterdam (63rd/60-64).

Koenders at the standard distance AG worlds in Abu Dhabi last November.

Warren Dohnt will race in the 45-49 category in a calling card moment for the Tri NZ Suzuki NZ Series to World Triathlon Age Group eco-system. This is the Triathlon Tauranga athletes’ first year in the sport and the trip to Hamburg is extra special as Dohnt is accompanied by son Luca who is also a keen triathlete.

New Zealand will field a Mixed Relay team for the first time at a World Triathlon Age Group championships on Sunday, providing Tanya Winter (Tri Sport Taupo), Julie Morgan (Taranaki Triathlon Club), Dean Rees (Canterbury Triathlon Club) and Ritchie Watson (North Harbour Triathlon Club) come through their individual races on Friday unscathed.

World Triathlon added MR to the age group worlds last year.

World Triathlon Age Group Sprint & Relay Championships – NZL Team

Lucy McLean (Manawatu Triathlon Club)
Ryan Marfell (Marlborough Triathlon Club)

Blake Miller (Triathlon Tauranga)
Taylah Arlidge (Manawatu Triathlon Club)

Kieran Coates (Auckland City Triathlon Club)
Nic Sowerby (Hawkes Bay Triathlon Club)

Warren Dohnt (Triathlon Tauranga)

Oonagh Turner (Auckland City Triathlon Club)

Tanya Winter (Tri Sport Taupo)
Julie Morgan (Taranaki Triathlon)
Dean Rees (Canterbury Triathlon Club)
Ritchie Watson (North Harbour Triathlon Club)

Raelene Rees (Canterbury Triathlon Club)
Kevin Fee (Manawatu Triathlon Club)

Fred Koenders (Hawkes Bay Triathlon Club)
Malcolm Elley (North Harbour Triathlon Club)
Alan McIntyre (Auckland City Triathlon Club)

Key timings (All Hamburg time)

Wed, July 12
Team Dinner, 6.30pm

Thrus, July 13
Opening Ceremony and Parade of Nations, 3pm

Fri, July 14
AG Sprint racing from midday
AG Medal ceremony at 6pm

Sun, July 16
AG MR racing from 4.15pm
AG MR Medal ceremony at 8.30pm
Closing Ceremony at 9pm

Comments are closed.