Published Date: 29 September, 2019

From Super League Triathlon


Vincent Luis started the defence of his Super League title in fine style – but it was Hayden Wilde who really stole the show.


Luis continued his amazing form with an excellent second run to leave Marten Van Riel behind and win Group A. Van Riel, Kristian Blummenfelt, Mario Mola and Leo Bergere rounded out the top five who qualify automatically for the Final. Pierre Le Corre also made it through as one of the next five fastest times across both semi-finals.


Group B was an utter domination from New Zealand star Hayden Wilde. He broke away on the first bike lap of the Shortened Enduro and held off the competition to win by a huge 20 second margin.


The pace was really on behind him as nine of the ten finishers also qualified for the Final. Aaron Royle, Anthony Pujades, Jonny Brownlee and Gustav Iden made it through by virtue of top five finishes.


The 15 athletes for Sunday’s Final were rounded out by four fastest finishers from Group B in the shape of Ben Kanute, Constantine Doherty, Jonas Schomburg and Aiden Longcroft-Harris. The Australian got his spot via a roll down after losing a photo finish to Simon Henseleit, who declined his starting spot after a tough day which saw him qualify for the Semi-Finals in the Junior Boy’s race.


Group B table topper Hayden Wilde said:


I feel really pumped. For me I had to just get through the first swim and I did that.


I was quite concerned in that first part and when I got through it I just got back into my race mood and was really happy to pull off the win.


I wasn’t expecting to get to the front so quick. I wanted to be aggressive on the bike and push the first leg really hard to give me some reassurance in case something happened and that’s how it worked so I’m really happy.


It’s three triathlons in a row in the Final and it gives me a bit of confidence with the extra Short Chute in the arsenal but you never know. It’s the best from the first heat, the best from the second heat, so it will be hard to get to the front.


Catch the action from the final live at 5am Monday 30th September NZT. and


Photo Credit : Tommy Zafares